Page 1 of 1

Update firmware after root

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:22 pm
by dparker86
Is there a way to update firmware after root? Or a way to unroot then update firmware and root again?

Re: Update firmware after root

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:09 am
by gdeeble
Manual Updates still work.

Re: Update firmware after root

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:46 am
by dparker86
when i try to do firmware upgrade it gets to 100% then says verifying and then says download failed.

Re: Update firmware after root

Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:24 am
by gdeeble
dparker86 wrote:when i try to do firmware upgrade it gets to 100% then says verifying and then says download failed.
I'd assume that it's corrupted if it failed. Grab a file manager, clear it out of cache, and try to download it again. If it still fails, try running the following code, which reverts back to allowing automatic updates. Or use your favorite file manager and change the file name back to otacerts.zip.

Code: Select all

su
mount -o,remount -rw /system
mv /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip.old /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip
mount -o,remount -ro /system

Re: Update firmware after root

Posted: Fri May 03, 2013 12:48 pm
by wtfchuck
gdeeble wrote:
dparker86 wrote:when i try to do firmware upgrade it gets to 100% then says verifying and then says download failed.
I'd assume that it's corrupted if it failed. Grab a file manager, clear it out of cache, and try to download it again. If it still fails, try running the following code, which reverts back to allowing automatic updates. Or use your favorite file manager and change the file name back to otacerts.zip.

Code: Select all

su
mount -o,remount -rw /system
mv /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip.old /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip
mount -o,remount -ro /system

Can anybody elaborate on this? How does one apply the code? TIA

Re: Update firmware after root

Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 4:39 pm
by MissingSpartan
I'm having trouble with this as well. I seem to be rooted, but all terminal programs crash on open, and file managers (ES, Open, many others) never seem to get root privs despite properly triggering su. Hence, I'm unable to switch otacerts.zip.old to its previous state. Any ideas or methods on this?

Re: Update firmware after root

Posted: Wed May 15, 2013 10:43 pm
by demologik
wtfchuck wrote:
gdeeble wrote:
dparker86 wrote:when i try to do firmware upgrade it gets to 100% then says verifying and then says download failed.
I'd assume that it's corrupted if it failed. Grab a file manager, clear it out of cache, and try to download it again. If it still fails, try running the following code, which reverts back to allowing automatic updates. Or use your favorite file manager and change the file name back to otacerts.zip.

Code: Select all

su
mount -o,remount -rw /system
mv /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip.old /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip
mount -o,remount -ro /system

Can anybody elaborate on this? How does one apply the code? TIA
gain access to your box thru ADB on a PC.

Re: Update firmware after root

Posted: Tue May 21, 2013 12:26 pm
by dixeflatline
What firmware is this for 1.09 or the 1.13? If for 1.09 then you think this may work on 1.13?

Thanks,
DFL

Re: Update firmware after root

Posted: Sat Sep 21, 2013 8:07 pm
by btux81
I have successfully updated following the instructions provided but it breaks root. I am running build number V1.145 (Firmware version 3.2). I formatted an SD card and copied the 3 files extracted from PrimePwn.zip but it does not interrupt the boot like it has done previously. Has anyone had any luck rooting on this version? I have downloaded an OTA file from GTVHacker (48a52f02f44a.NeoTVPrime-ota.v1.0.9.zip) and have it copied to a USB Flash but not sure how to get it to work properly. Should I try to install this using remote adb? I have used ADB commands to send/receive and even flash files on a Nexus but it was connected directly to a PC. Does anyone know the precise command? Thanks for the support.

Re: Update firmware after root

Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:46 am
by geremyv
The same issue here. It says download failed.
192.168.0.1