OTA Root Survival

Post Reply
FMKaiba
Android 1.0
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:23 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

OTA Root Survival

Post by FMKaiba » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

SuperSU has an OTA survival tool built in.

This makes me curious, can anyone who wants to unroot and update try this tool? see if it succeds

FMKaiba
Android 1.0
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:23 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: OTA Root Survival

Post by FMKaiba » Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:50 pm

Someone needed to find out... so i took the plunge.

Result: OTA Root Survival does not work on the hisense pulse.

=( I have lost root. but now we know. Remember me as a martyr brothers. =P

the.joeba
Android 1.0
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 2:33 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: OTA Root Survival

Post by the.joeba » Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:39 am

We will not let your sacrifice be for nothing!

HanzP
Android 1.0
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:24 pm
GTV Device Owned: NSX-40GT1 (Internet TV)

Re: OTA Root Survival

Post by HanzP » Sun Apr 21, 2013 1:23 pm

Damn...missed the post. I can confirm a no-go with OTA Root Survival.

Now that I lost root how the heck do I rename otacerts.zip.old to otacerts.zip - it just won't stick? Do I have to install adb (again) and root again? Too much work for a fake weekend hacker...

gtvguy
Android 1.0
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:41 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: OTA Root Survival

Post by gtvguy » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:17 pm

HanzP wrote:Damn...missed the post. I can confirm a no-go with OTA Root Survival.

Now that I lost root how the heck do I rename otacerts.zip.old to otacerts.zip - it just won't stick? Do I have to install adb (again) and root again? Too much work for a fake weekend hacker...
If you lost root because you upgraded to the latest version, then you will not be able to root again unless and until someone finds a new exploit. Given the low interest in this device by the hacker community, the chances of that are probably slim...

[EDIT - From your post in another thread, it looks like the upgrade failed so you were able to root again. Nevertheless, I leave the above as a warning to others.]
Logitech Revue and Hisense Pulse

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

 

 

cron

Login  •  Register