Build Number (Now with System Dump)

Post Reply
Wisefire
Android 1.0
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:07 am
GTV Device Owned: Vizio Co-Star

Build Number (Now with System Dump)

Post by Wisefire » Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:11 am

So while rooting my device I noticed something odd. The build number, for shipped devices(according to gtvhacker) is: MASTER.user.hisense.20121122.124750 (BOX_2.22a.C0920_E_release)

But my device came with:
MASTER.user.hisense.20121119.185826 (BOX_2.22a.C0920_E_release)

I was able to root, but also never received any update notifications.

Any ideas what's up with this? Or does anyone else have the same?

Edit: Requested system dump: http://www.mediafire.com/?54msraj292ubxbz
Last edited by Wisefire on Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jarhead
1.5 Cupcake
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:50 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Build Number

Post by Jarhead » Thu Jan 17, 2013 8:24 am

They (Hisense) just boxed up yours before the update was applied. No big deal. You can see it was a few days earlier. If you didn't root, you would've gotten the update. It's probably already downloaded on your unit, go to status and see.

User avatar
kermit_01
Android 1.0
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:45 pm
GTV Device Owned: NSZ-GT1 (Bluray Player)
Location: Ohio

Re: Build Number

Post by kermit_01 » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:56 am

Wisefire wrote:So while rooting my device I noticed something odd. The build number, for shipped devices(according to gtvhacker) is: MASTER.user.hisense.20121122.124750 (BOX_2.22a.C0920_E_release)

But my device came with:
MASTER.user.hisense.20121119.185826 (BOX_2.22a.C0920_E_release)

I was able to root, but also never received any update notifications.

Any ideas what's up with this? Or does anyone else have the same?

I do believe Jarhead is mistaken.

The new build is MASTER.user.hisense.20121212.182643 (BOX_2.31a.C1204_E_release)
Rootable build was MASTER.user.hisense.20121122.124750 (BOX_2.22a.C0920_E_release)

The Build you mention - MASTER.user.hisense.20121119.185826 (BOX_2.22a.C0920_E_release) -
I would have to assume is an earlier version of what originally shipped given the date. Either way interesting find. Could you post a picture, not that I don't believe you, but evidence is always appreciated.

Jarhead
1.5 Cupcake
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:50 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Build Number

Post by Jarhead » Sun Jan 20, 2013 3:22 pm

So you say I'm wrong but then say the same thing I did? Lol

Wisefire
Android 1.0
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:07 am
GTV Device Owned: Vizio Co-Star

Re: Build Number

Post by Wisefire » Sun Jan 20, 2013 3:29 pm


tdweng
Android 1.0
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:37 pm

Re: Build Number

Post by tdweng » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:53 pm

Wisefire is it possible to get a system dump from your box?

Wisefire
Android 1.0
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:07 am
GTV Device Owned: Vizio Co-Star

Re: Build Number

Post by Wisefire » Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:49 pm

Of course. Always willing to help. Got any instructions around? I'll do some Google'ing as well.

Edit: Dumping System right now, will post the uploaded .zip soon.

Edit2: System Dump completed, uploading now.

Edit3: Here is the link to the system dump: http://www.mediafire.com/?54msraj292ubxbz

tdweng
Android 1.0
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:37 pm

Re: Build Number

Post by tdweng » Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:00 pm

Wisefire wrote:Of course. Always willing to help. Got any instructions around? I'll do some Google'ing as well.

Edit: Dumping System right now, will post the uploaded .zip soon.

Edit2: System Dump completed, uploading now.

Edit3: Here is the link to the system dump: http://www.mediafire.com/?54msraj292ubxbz
Thanks Wisefire, we will take a peak at it and see what is different. We find it very interesting that your box has a different build. Thanks again for getting this to us.

Wisefire
Android 1.0
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:07 am
GTV Device Owned: Vizio Co-Star

Re: Build Number

Post by Wisefire » Mon Jan 21, 2013 5:43 am

tdweng wrote:
Wisefire wrote:Of course. Always willing to help. Got any instructions around? I'll do some Google'ing as well.

Edit: Dumping System right now, will post the uploaded .zip soon.

Edit2: System Dump completed, uploading now.

Edit3: Here is the link to the system dump: http://www.mediafire.com/?54msraj292ubxbz
Thanks Wisefire, we will take a peak at it and see what is different. We find it very interesting that your box has a different build. Thanks again for getting this to us.
No problem, like I said, always willing to help. I find it interesting that the build was different as well, though I am unsure if it will be beneficial.

Post Reply
 

 

cron

Login  •  Register