Video player with audio switching (GTVBox/ViMu Player)

Talk about apps goes here.
proximous
Android 1.0
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:26 pm
GTV Device Owned: NSZ-GT1 (Bluray Player)

Re: Video player with audio switching (GTVBox/ViMu Player)

Post by proximous » Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:06 am

mcd2000 wrote:
proximous wrote: I can provide a chapter file if needed...I think they are just XML.
Hmm.. I thought we were talking about chapters embedded into MKV containers... :roll:
I do mean chapters embedded in the MKV containers. Aren't they just XML in the container? I don't know. I use MKVMergeGUI and it handles it like XML (imports/exports). So I assumed it was XML in the container. But yes, I do me what's in the container...however it's in there :)

tamanaco
Android 1.0
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:17 pm

Re: Video player with audio switching (GTVBox/ViMu Player)

Post by tamanaco » Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:24 am

mcd2000 wrote: I think if the chapters were the problem, it would fail to play at all...
Do you see any other characteristic in the file that would cause it to play the sound, but not the video?

mcd2000
Ice Cream Sandwich
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 5:52 am
GTV Device Owned: Vizio Co-Star
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Video player with audio switching (GTVBox/ViMu Player)

Post by mcd2000 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:58 am

tamanaco wrote:
mcd2000 wrote: I think if the chapters were the problem, it would fail to play at all...
Do you see any other characteristic in the file that would cause it to play the sound, but not the video?
Nope. Video stream seems to be compatible.
ViMu Player
ViMu/GTVBox Google+ page
My devices: Logitech Revue, Sony NSZ-GT1, Sony NSZ-GS7, Vizio Co-Star, Hisense Pulse (rooted), ASUS Qube and some others...

mcd2000
Ice Cream Sandwich
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 5:52 am
GTV Device Owned: Vizio Co-Star
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Video player with audio switching (GTVBox/ViMu Player)

Post by mcd2000 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:02 am

proximous wrote:
mcd2000 wrote:
proximous wrote: I can provide a chapter file if needed...I think they are just XML.
Hmm.. I thought we were talking about chapters embedded into MKV containers... :roll:
I do mean chapters embedded in the MKV containers. Aren't they just XML in the container? I don't know. I use MKVMergeGUI and it handles it like XML (imports/exports). So I assumed it was XML in the container. But yes, I do me what's in the container...however it's in there :)
No. It is completely binary format. http://matroska.org/technical/specs/chapters/index.html
ViMu Player
ViMu/GTVBox Google+ page
My devices: Logitech Revue, Sony NSZ-GT1, Sony NSZ-GS7, Vizio Co-Star, Hisense Pulse (rooted), ASUS Qube and some others...

proximous
Android 1.0
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:26 pm
GTV Device Owned: NSZ-GT1 (Bluray Player)

Re: Video player with audio switching (GTVBox/ViMu Player)

Post by proximous » Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:01 am

mcd2000 wrote:
proximous wrote: ...I assumed it was XML in the container. But yes, I do me what's in the container...however it's in there :)
No. It is completely binary format. http://matroska.org/technical/specs/chapters/index.html
Ahh...thanks for the link. The XML matches what's there so I guess MKVmerge just uses XML as a simple way to import/export. Would be great to see the embedded binary supported!

Unrelated...I know the Google folks seem to hate you offering config options, but...I'd really like to request a option to default to showing subtitles. I only have subtitles for forced foreign language translations. Currently I find that I'll watch something, people will be speaking in a foriegn language, I'll remember I have subtitles, turn them on, and then rewind to read them. It would be nice if they could be on by default.

I'm fine with tweaking MKV files to flag the embedded SRT as forced, or to have an external SRT with "forced" in the name if that is the better way to handle this. I'd just really like them to be on by default, so even a simple option in an Advanced Settings area would be great.

Thanks again for being so open to suggestions from everyone! This is a great app even without these improvements!

mcd2000
Ice Cream Sandwich
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 5:52 am
GTV Device Owned: Vizio Co-Star
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Video player with audio switching (GTVBox/ViMu Player)

Post by mcd2000 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:24 pm

proximous wrote: I'm fine with tweaking MKV files to flag the embedded SRT as forced, or to have an external SRT with "forced" in the name if that is the better way to handle this.
Surprise. It should work if you name an MKV embedded sub track "Forced" (first letter capitalized). Actually, MKV files have a special flag for that but I was not able to utilize it for some reason in my parser (maybe it even works)....
ViMu Player
ViMu/GTVBox Google+ page
My devices: Logitech Revue, Sony NSZ-GT1, Sony NSZ-GS7, Vizio Co-Star, Hisense Pulse (rooted), ASUS Qube and some others...

proximous
Android 1.0
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:26 pm
GTV Device Owned: NSZ-GT1 (Bluray Player)

Re: Video player with audio switching (GTVBox/ViMu Player)

Post by proximous » Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:44 pm

mcd2000 wrote:Surprise. It should work if you name an MKV embedded sub track "Forced" (first letter capitalized). Actually, MKV files have a special flag for that but I was not able to utilize it for some reason in my parser (maybe it even works)....
Nice surprise! :D
Remuxed a video, tested, works! Very nice. Do you have a list of other hidden/secret features? ;)

I use MKVmergeGUI to remux my MKVs. It gives two relavent "General Track Options". (1) Default track flag (2) Forced track flag. I can verify that I previously had both set to YES and it did NOT play the embedded SRT. However naming it "Forced" like you said works.

Is there a similar trick for SRT files? I'm happy to remux my MKVs, but renaming files would be quicker so I thought I'd check first.

harshdev
Android 1.0
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:32 am
GTV Device Owned: Sony NSZ-GS7 (v2 streamer)

Unable to play H264 MPEG-4 XVID

Post by harshdev » Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:40 am

Hello Guys,

Thank you for a very good product. However, a few formats are are not being played and when I compare the media information it matches the formats listed. Can you please confirm if I am doing something wrong. Details of the file as reported by VLC player on Mac:

Stream 0:
Type - Video
Codec - MPEG-4 Video (XVID)
Resolution - 624x338
Frame rate - 25
Decoded format - Planar 4:2:0 (YUV)

Stream 1:
Type - Audio
Codec - A52 Audio Aka (AC3) (A52)
Channels - Stereo
Sample rate - 48000 Hz
Bitrate - 192 kbps

mcd2000
Ice Cream Sandwich
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 5:52 am
GTV Device Owned: Vizio Co-Star
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Unable to play H264 MPEG-4 XVID

Post by mcd2000 » Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:18 am

harshdev wrote:Hello Guys,

Thank you for a very good product. However, a few formats are are not being played and when I compare the media information it matches the formats listed. Can you please confirm if I am doing something wrong. Details of the file as reported by VLC player on Mac:

Stream 0:
Type - Video
Codec - MPEG-4 Video (XVID)
Resolution - 624x338
Frame rate - 25
Decoded format - Planar 4:2:0 (YUV)

Stream 1:
Type - Audio
Codec - A52 Audio Aka (AC3) (A52)
Channels - Stereo
Sample rate - 48000 Hz
Bitrate - 192 kbps
It would be better if you could use Mediainfo to get codec info...
ViMu Player
ViMu/GTVBox Google+ page
My devices: Logitech Revue, Sony NSZ-GT1, Sony NSZ-GS7, Vizio Co-Star, Hisense Pulse (rooted), ASUS Qube and some others...

tskitishvili
Android 1.0
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:32 am
GTV Device Owned: NSZ-GT1 (Bluray Player)

Re: Video player with audio switching (GTVBox/ViMu Player)

Post by tskitishvili » Sun Jan 13, 2013 2:31 pm

After upgrade to ViMU version, the folder picture do not show up in list view mode. Oddly sometimes if I move up and down the list the folder.jpg might show up.

I also do not like the fact that >| jumps to the next file. Let's say in the future that function will work to navigate MKV chapters, unless I know for sure that my MKV contains chapters, the button behavior will be unpredictable.

In majority of set top boxes (Dish Network, DirecTV and even media players) >| means skips forward N seconds and > means fast forward. Skipping the file is not the function which people use often with video files. However it is very useful for music or photo files.

Post Reply
 

 

cron

Login  •  Register