Rooting Logitech Revue

Trying to further the development of the Android on the Revue? Talk about it hear and document it on the wiki: http://www.wiki.gtvhacker.com

Moderator: Revue Mod

M1cha
Android 1.0
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 8:42 am

Re: Rooting Logitech Revue

Post by M1cha »

The big problem is that we can't write to the system-partition even with root.
And that's the requirement for everything(including 2ndInit).
gdeeble
1.5 Cupcake
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:54 pm

Re: Rooting Logitech Revue

Post by gdeeble »

Curiosity, has anyone seen https://github.com/saurik/mempodroid ? This is for 4.x.x, and wonder if anyone can use it for rooting HC3.1. Apparently, it alters the memory by exit() and sysresuid() commands. I'm not to smart with the internal working of it, but figured I'd post this in case someone with higher knowledge, might know how to get it to work.
nikescar
Android 1.0
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:53 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Rooting Logitech Revue

Post by nikescar »

gdeeble wrote:Curiosity, has anyone seen https://github.com/saurik/mempodroid ? This is for 4.x.x, and wonder if anyone can use it for rooting HC3.1. Apparently, it alters the memory by exit() and sysresuid() commands. I'm not to smart with the internal working of it, but figured I'd post this in case someone with higher knowledge, might know how to get it to work.
it is pretty amazing.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1463564

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1461736

http://www.android-hilfe.de/anleitungen ... 0-3-a.html

In order to get revue rooted, the su binary has to be extracted. but I don't know if its possible.

----
1.added more link
gdeeble
1.5 Cupcake
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:54 pm

Re: Rooting Logitech Revue

Post by gdeeble »

Right, from the looks, it looks awesome. But my main thing is, can we get the system directory to switch to RW vs. RO with this. If we can get that, then maybe more can happen. I'm sure someone can compile it and su for the revue without a hitch. If someone knows the memory location and can compile this for the x86 platform the revue is using, then it's worth every attempt. I just don't have the knowledge of compiling or checking for memory locations, I'm more of the guinea pig of the bunch. LoL
gtvguy
Android 1.0
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:41 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Rooting Logitech Revue

Post by gtvguy »

mempodroid only works on devices that have Linux kernel 2.6.39 or above, as those have the flaw that it exploits. Unfortunately, the latest 3.1 software on the Revue only has kernel 2.6.35, which pre-dates the flaw.
Logitech Revue and Hisense Pulse
gdeeble
1.5 Cupcake
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:54 pm

Re: Rooting Logitech Revue

Post by gdeeble »

Sorry I missed that part. I saw new type, and had high hopes and poor attention to the "details". My bad.
sanjayc
Android 1.0
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:50 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Rooting Logitech Revue

Post by sanjayc »

anyone know where i can download the latest rooted build for the revue? I have had trouble accessing any of the multiupload links

-S
nikescar
Android 1.0
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:53 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Rooting Logitech Revue

Post by nikescar »

sanjayc wrote:anyone know where i can download the latest rooted build for the revue? I have had trouble accessing any of the multiupload links

-S
until now there are no way to upload custom rom on the device.

look this thread.

http://gtvhacker.com/index.php/Steps_to_get_root
nikescar
Android 1.0
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:53 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Rooting Logitech Revue

Post by nikescar »

Have been looking for way to hack boot loader.

=attempts to hack bootloader through hardware connection

#UART Output/ Bootloader hacking/ Kernel Debugging on AT&T SGS2
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1313588

#how to debug bootloader in flash?
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2342 ... r-in-flash

#How to unlock the Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1v
http://411technology.wordpress.com/2011 ... tab-10-1v/

=logitech revue has this chip(PIC24FJ64GA004) according to iFlixit
http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Logitech ... own/3788/1

=chip datasheet
#PIC24FJ64GA004 Status: In Production
http://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/De ... e=en026375

#PIC24FJ64GA004 Family Data Sheet
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/D ... 39881D.pdf

=way to hack bootloader through UART connection

#How-to debug internal FPGA Logic with the $50 Openbench Logic Sniffer.
http://gadgetfactory.net/logicsniffer/i ... ebugAnFPGA

#Logic Sniffer
http://dangerousprototypes.com/docs/Ope ... ic_Sniffer

#the-bus-pirate
http://code.google.com/p/the-bus-pirate/

#Softpanorama
http://www.softpanorama.org/Lang/debug.shtml#IDE


do you think this is possible way to hack? I don't have any experience on this. so I am nervous to go one step further. and advice would be great.
sanjayc
Android 1.0
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:50 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Rooting Logitech Revue

Post by sanjayc »

nikescar wrote:
sanjayc wrote:anyone know where i can download the latest rooted build for the revue? I have had trouble accessing any of the multiupload links

-S
until now there are no way to upload custom rom on the device.

look this thread.

http://gtvhacker.com/index.php/Steps_to_get_root

I am talking about the links at the end of that thread. They all seem to be down except the oldest one. The thread details how to install a custom ROM on the device once you have TTY access via the UART port, which i have enabled. Anyone know where I can get the most recent build?
Post Reply
 

 

cron