Bricked Revue With Triangle Logo and "!" ? Read this

Having issues applying a release or having continuing weirdness? Place it here.

Moderator: Revue Mod

zenofex
2.1 Eclair
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:16 pm

Re: Bricked Revue With Triangle Logo and "!" ? Read this

Post by zenofex » Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:48 pm

Here are two videos which I hope will explain the process a bit more:

The boot sequence for helping to identify if this method will work for you:
http://youtu.be/EWwkRsOh4fU

The install sequence (after soldering USB extension, and after partitioning and setting up thumb drive)
http://youtu.be/S9hl7tWneTA

Thanks,
Zenofex
Bitcoin donations can be sent to:
15mb6ER9gbujUXJABBd146W34FwWX2F1Lx

rontonomo
Android 1.0
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:04 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Bricked Revue With Triangle Logo and "!" ? Read this

Post by rontonomo » Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:06 pm

thanks for the videos could you please post a video or more detail tutorial on how to make the jump drive exactly i have tried alot of times but it never seems to work would really appreciate the help thanks

zenofex
2.1 Eclair
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:16 pm

Re: Bricked Revue With Triangle Logo and "!" ? Read this

Post by zenofex » Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:12 pm

rontonomo wrote:thanks for the videos could you please post a video or more detail tutorial on how to make the jump drive exactly i have tried alot of times but it never seems to work would really appreciate the help thanks
All you need to do for the thumb drive portion is to create 2 EXT3 partitions on a single jump drive with at least 512MB per partiton. In both partitions place a folder labeled "recovery", and within that folder place a file labeled "command" with the following inside "--update_package=CACHE:/recovery/update.zip". Then along side of the command file you will need to place the update you are trying to upgrade to (in most cases b61925) renamed as "update.zip".

That's all there is to appropriately setting up a correctly formatted thumb drive.

Thanks,
Zenofex
Bitcoin donations can be sent to:
15mb6ER9gbujUXJABBd146W34FwWX2F1Lx

rontonomo
Android 1.0
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:04 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Bricked Revue With Triangle Logo and "!" ? Read this

Post by rontonomo » Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:42 am

thank you zenofex because of you my revue is fully functional again thank you

zenofex
2.1 Eclair
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:16 pm

Re: Bricked Revue With Triangle Logo and "!" ? Read this

Post by zenofex » Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:59 am

rontonomo wrote:thank you zenofex because of you my revue is fully functional again thank you
Woot! Glad to hear it!

Thanks,
Zenofex
Bitcoin donations can be sent to:
15mb6ER9gbujUXJABBd146W34FwWX2F1Lx

valkyr
Android 1.0
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 2:01 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Bricked Revue With Triangle Logo and "!" ? Read this

Post by valkyr » Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:12 pm

Zenofex,

Thanks for the videos but I still get no joy from the USB stick when connected to the soldered in cable.

The CTRL-ALT-DEL works fine - so I know the wiring is correct (or mostly correct?) but for whatever reason, the Revue never attempts to even read the USB stick (I know this because the indicator on the USB stick never blinks to indicate it is being accessed).

Thanks again for your help though and patience.

May be I have the wrong "kind" of USB stick :)

Discovered
2.2 Froyo
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:57 am
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Bricked Revue With Triangle Logo and "!" ? Read this

Post by Discovered » Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:02 pm

"kind" of usb has been an issue. try another brand, and size usb stick.
LGVM670 - CM 9
IPhone 3GS - IOS 5.1.1
Revue - HC 3.2
Aspire 3000 - JoliOS

rontonomo
Android 1.0
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:04 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Bricked Revue With Triangle Logo and "!" ? Read this

Post by rontonomo » Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:11 pm

Maybe this will help someone. These are the exact steps i used to make the usb stick
1. I used Easus Partition Master and made 2 ext3 that were each 540 mb
2. Set them as primary (not logical) everytime i set them to logical the revue would not recognize that usb stick
3. Booted up ubuntu and downloaded the 3.1 ota file from gtvhacker
4. Rename the file to update.zip
5. Then create a folder called recovery and put the update zip inside the folder
6. Finally i ran the command=
echo "--update_package=CACHE:/recovery/update.zip" > recovery/command
(without the equal sign) from the root of each partition
After that i pulled the plug on my revue then plugged it in and right away plugged the usb stick in to the soldered on usb plug. then it showed the loading screen and started filling up blue left to right
Hopefully this will help someone else
and finally on more big thanks to ZENOFEX who without i would have never got this to work

safranek
Android 1.0
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 4:19 am
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Bricked Revue With Triangle Logo and "!" ? Read this

Post by safranek » Sat Dec 17, 2011 4:23 am

rontonomo wrote:Maybe this will help someone. These are the exact steps i used to make the usb stick
1. I used Easus Partition Master and made 2 ext3 that were each 540 mb
2. Set them as primary (not logical) everytime i set them to logical the revue would not recognize that usb stick
3. Booted up ubuntu and downloaded the 3.1 ota file from gtvhacker
4. Rename the file to update.zip
5. Then create a folder called recovery and put the update zip inside the folder
6. Finally i ran the command=
echo "--update_package=CACHE:/recovery/update.zip" > recovery/command
(without the equal sign) from the root of each partition
After that i pulled the plug on my revue then plugged it in and right away plugged the usb stick in to the soldered on usb plug. then it showed the loading screen and started filling up blue left to right
Hopefully this will help someone else
and finally on more big thanks to ZENOFEX who without i would have never got this to work
Hi,

I've followed this guide, and I was able to initiate the update process, the Revue was reading something from the USB definitely.
I had the blue progress bar running, but it was stuck at the first third of the bar, and the white triangle appeared again... :(

Do you have any idea what could be wrong, or how to resolve it?

Thanks in advance.

safranek
Android 1.0
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 4:19 am
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Bricked Revue With Triangle Logo and "!" ? Read this

Post by safranek » Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:00 am

safranek wrote:
rontonomo wrote:Maybe this will help someone. These are the exact steps i used to make the usb stick
1. I used Easus Partition Master and made 2 ext3 that were each 540 mb
2. Set them as primary (not logical) everytime i set them to logical the revue would not recognize that usb stick
3. Booted up ubuntu and downloaded the 3.1 ota file from gtvhacker
4. Rename the file to update.zip
5. Then create a folder called recovery and put the update zip inside the folder
6. Finally i ran the command=
echo "--update_package=CACHE:/recovery/update.zip" > recovery/command
(without the equal sign) from the root of each partition
After that i pulled the plug on my revue then plugged it in and right away plugged the usb stick in to the soldered on usb plug. then it showed the loading screen and started filling up blue left to right
Hopefully this will help someone else
and finally on more big thanks to ZENOFEX who without i would have never got this to work
Hi,

I've followed this guide, and I was able to initiate the update process, the Revue was reading something from the USB definitely.
I had the blue progress bar running, but it was stuck at the first third of the bar, and the white triangle appeared again... :(

Do you have any idea what could be wrong, or how to resolve it?

Thanks in advance.
Ok, I figured out that the update process created some log files on the USB stick and removed the command file.

This is how the log looks like:

Code: Select all

Starting recovery on Sun Jul 26 09:37:35 1953
can't open /dev/tty0: No such file or directory
framebuffer: fd 0 (1152 x 592)
recovery filesystem table
=========================
  0 /tmp ramdisk (null) (null) 0
  1 /data/chrome ext3 /dev/disk/by-topology/internal-usb0-part2 (null) 0
  2 /sdcard vfat /dev/disk/by-topology/external0-part1 (null) 0
  3 /boot yaffs2 boot (null) 0
  4 /system yaffs2 system (null) 0
  5 /cache ext3 /dev/disk/by-topology/internal-usb0-part1 (null) 0
  6 /data yaffs2 data (null) 0
  7 recovery mtd recovery (null) 0
  8 splash mtd splash (null) 0
  9 kernel mtd kernel (null) 0
  10 cefdk mtd cefdk (null) 0
  11 keystore mtd keystore (null) 0

I:Got arguments from /cache/recovery/command
Command: "/bin/recovery" "--update_package=CACHE:/recovery/update.zip"
(replacing path "CACHE:/recovery/update.zip" with "/cache//recovery/update.zip")

ro.recovery.version=3
ro.secure=1
ro.allow.mock.location=0
ro.debuggable=0
persist.service.adb.enable=0
ro.macaddr=1c6f6573fffb
ro.factorytest=0
ro.serialno=1043GB072848
ro.bootmode=recovery
ro.baseband=unknown
ro.carrier=unknown
ro.bootloader=5.303-g49cc594d
ro.hardware=logitech_ka5
ro.revision=0
persist.init.boot.token=1
ro.boot.token=1
init.svc.recovery=running
init.svc.console=stopped

Finding update package...
I:Update location: /cache//recovery/update.zip
I:Copying package from /cache//recovery/update.zip to /tmp/update.zip
Opening update package...
I:Update file path: /tmp/update.zip
I:1 key(s) loaded from /res/keys
Verifying update package...
I:comment is 1738 bytes; signature 1720 bytes from end
I:whole-file signature verified against key 0
I:verify_file returned 0
I:ota.prop: 'ro.ota.version=5'
Installing update...
Failed to mount /dev/block/mtdblock9 on /mnt/system: Invalid argument
mtd mount of system failed: Invalid argument
script aborted: file_getprop: failed to stat "/mnt/system/build.prop": No such file or directory
file_getprop: failed to stat "/mnt/system/build.prop": No such file or directory
E:Error in /tmp/update.zip
(Status 7)
Installation aborted.
So that's how it ends...
Is this somehow familiar for someone?

Post Reply
 

 

cron

Login  •  Register