Say Hello to the Netgear NeoTV Prime and “PrimePwn”

demologik
Android 1.0
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:28 pm
GTV Device Owned: Sony NSZ-GS7 (v2 streamer)

Re: Say Hello to the Netgear NeoTV Prime and “PrimePwn”

Post by demologik » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:57 am

I'll let ya know after I get home from work.

demologik
Android 1.0
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:28 pm
GTV Device Owned: Sony NSZ-GS7 (v2 streamer)

Re: Say Hello to the Netgear NeoTV Prime and “PrimePwn”

Post by demologik » Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:18 am

Okay. Hulu Plus works great. Enable "generic user agent" in Chrome under "advanced settings" to make it work.. Plays videos in full screen with zero audio latency issues, smooth streaming HD content. Now all we need is a custom recovery image!!!
http://youtu.be/5czfV2-q0u0

jmprnbr1
Android 1.0
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 10:56 pm

Re: Say Hello to the Netgear NeoTV Prime and “PrimePwn”

Post by jmprnbr1 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:03 am

the hisense pulse lets you watch regular hulu also will neo do that or do you have to watch hulu plus?

Meridian
Android 1.0
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:41 pm

Re: Say Hello to the Netgear NeoTV Prime and “PrimePwn”

Post by Meridian » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:10 am

Zenofex: Is there a way to temporarily allow updates to be admitted once you have already rooted the box? It appears that the update hasn't removed root or any functionality, and I was wondering if a separate test_mode where the otacerts file is restored, just for updating, could be made available.

Thanks for doing the heavy lifting, Zenofex and Demologik.

jmprnbr1
Android 1.0
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 10:56 pm

Re: Say Hello to the Netgear NeoTV Prime and “PrimePwn”

Post by jmprnbr1 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:33 pm

I hope this is a dumb question (and if so I apologize) but how does the GTV100 turn the TV on and Off, I only see the power for the box and not the TV??? Can this box turn the TV on and off, I can control volume and channels but don't see on and off. Thanks

gdeeble
1.5 Cupcake
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:54 pm

Re: Say Hello to the Netgear NeoTV Prime and “PrimePwn”

Post by gdeeble » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:25 am

Unfortunately, this is a limitation with the hardware, and it only works for the NeoTV itself. There is currently no provisions for TV/STB/Other Device power controls.

Jarhead
1.5 Cupcake
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:50 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Say Hello to the Netgear NeoTV Prime and “PrimePwn”

Post by Jarhead » Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:51 pm

jmprnbr1 wrote:I hope this is a dumb question (and if so I apologize) but how does the GTV100 turn the TV on and Off, I only see the power for the box and not the TV??? Can this box turn the TV on and off, I can control volume and channels but don't see on and off. Thanks
You can get a better remote. The Logitech ones (full size and mini) have separate power buttons for all 3 devices. Of course with the NeoTv they disabled the ability to control a receiver so it will only control the 2 devices.
I use the mini controller with my Pulse and it works fine.
Another option, and a better one, is don't use the gtv remote as your primary. I use my Harmony remote to power on and for main control until I use the gtv function, then I grab the gtv remote. I know some will say this isn't how it 'should' be but if you're gonna be honest you'll admit the gtv remotes are very lacking so it makes sense.

Jarhead
1.5 Cupcake
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:50 pm
GTV Device Owned: Logitech Revue

Re: Say Hello to the Netgear NeoTV Prime and “PrimePwn”

Post by Jarhead » Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:51 pm

jmprnbr1 wrote:I hope this is a dumb question (and if so I apologize) but how does the GTV100 turn the TV on and Off, I only see the power for the box and not the TV??? Can this box turn the TV on and off, I can control volume and channels but don't see on and off. Thanks
You can get a better remote. The Logitech ones (full size and mini) have separate power buttons for all 3 devices. Of course with the NeoTv they disabled the ability to control a receiver so it will only control the 2 devices.
I use the mini controller with my Pulse and it works fine.
Another option, and a better one, is don't use the gtv remote as your primary. I use my Harmony remote to power on and for main control until I use the gtv function, then I grab the gtv remote. I know some will say this isn't how it 'should' be but if you're gonna be honest you'll admit the gtv remotes are very lacking so it makes sense.

jmprnbr1
Android 1.0
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 10:56 pm

Re: Say Hello to the Netgear NeoTV Prime and “PrimePwn”

Post by jmprnbr1 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:00 pm

I love the gtv100 i guee i just need to get a good remote from a third party. Any suggestions would be great.

loady2u
Android 1.0
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:14 pm

Re: Say Hello to the Netgear NeoTV Prime and “PrimePwn”

Post by loady2u » Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:36 pm

well...
I just picked one up one of these bad boys the other day, set it up...all good last 3 days.
decided to try prime-pwn earlier today...popped usb in, walked away for about 20min and...
looks like I fried it.
can't get anything, won't boot up.
I get a netgear pic on restart- then nothing.
Tried the reset button, unplugging...replugging = nothing.
--wow, what a real let down.
I guess I'll return it tomorrow.
loady

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 

 

cron

Login  •  Register